jail

Fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer: sentencing and driver’s license issues

November 9, 2012
Thumbnail image for Fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer: sentencing and driver’s license issues

If a police officer tries to pull you over with his siren or flashing lights and you choose to drive away, you could be charged with a serious crime. The law in Illinois says that fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer is a Class A misdemeanor. You could go to jail for up […]

Read the full article →

Reckless driving in Illinois: the law and penalties

June 26, 2012
Thumbnail image for Reckless driving in Illinois: the law and penalties

A traffic ticket for reckless driving in Illinois can cause serious problems. First, the police officer can decide to, rather than ticket the offender, make an arrest and take the driver into custody. If this happens, the police officer will have the vehicle towed. The driver will have to pay a fee to get it […]

Read the full article →

Speeding 40 mph over the limit in Illinois: Class A misdemeanor

May 31, 2012
Thumbnail image for Speeding 40 mph over the limit in Illinois: Class A misdemeanor

The state of Illinois has some of the toughest traffic laws in the country. A person who drives 40 miles per hour over the posted speed limit can be arrested, charged with a crime, and even put in jail. 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5(b). Speeding 40 mph over the limit, years ago, was called aggravated speeding. If […]

Read the full article →

Illinois DUI laws explained

May 29, 2012
Thumbnail image for Illinois DUI laws explained

Driving under the influence is a criminal offense in Illinois. The first offense is generally a Class A misdemeanor. Under very rare circumstances, a first offense can be a felony. The statute for DUI is found in the vehicle code at 625 ILCS 5/11-501. Most cases are charged under 11-501(a)(1) for having an alcohol concentration […]

Read the full article →

Illinois laws against driving a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL

May 6, 2012
Thumbnail image for Illinois laws against driving a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL

Any person who operates a commercial motor vehicle on Illinois roadways without the required license commits a crime. By statute, it is a Class A misdemeanor offense to drive a CMV without a CDL. The Illinois vehicle code prohibits the operation of a commercial motor vehicle without a CDL under section 625 ILCS 5/6-507. The […]

Read the full article →

Driving while license suspended: more serious than a ticket

March 16, 2012
Thumbnail image for Driving while license suspended: more serious than a ticket

As an attorney I cannot count the number of times clients say to me, “I did not get arrested for driving while suspended. I just got a ticket.” Many people are misinformed. The law in Illinois says that a person does not have to be handcuffed in order to be, in legal terms, arrested. A […]

Read the full article →

Driving without a valid license: a summary of the consequences

February 17, 2012
Thumbnail image for Driving without a valid license: a summary of the consequences

If you were pulled over by a police officer and given a ticket for driving without a valid license, you are looking at some serious problems. Contrary to what many people believe, getting a ticket for driving without a valid license, 625 ILCS 5/6-101, is the same as getting arrested. Legally speaking, the fact that […]

Read the full article →

Traffic tickets and drivers under age 21: serious penalties

February 4, 2012
Thumbnail image for Traffic tickets and drivers under age 21: serious penalties

Illinois is one of the toughest states when it comes to a young person’s driving privileges. In addition to the Zero Tolerance law, which suspends a person’s driver’s license for consuming alcohol before age 21, the Secretary of State has multiple laws it can use to take away your license. In fact, a driver who […]

Read the full article →