625 ILCS 5/11-601.5

Speeding 40 mph over the limit in Illinois: Class A misdemeanor

May 31, 2012
Thumbnail image for Speeding 40 mph over the limit in Illinois: Class A misdemeanor

The state of Illinois has some of the toughest traffic laws in the country. A person who drives 40 miles per hour over the posted speed limit can be arrested, charged with a crime, and even put in jail. 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5(b). Speeding 40 mph over the limit, years ago, was called aggravated speeding. If […]

Read the full article →

Speeding 31 mph over the limit now a misdemeanor in Illinois

May 2, 2012
Thumbnail image for Speeding 31 mph over the limit now a misdemeanor in Illinois

The state legislature added an important statute to the vehicle code in 2011. In response to a Chicago Tribune article that exposed how Cook County traffic court judges were going easy on speeders, Springfield lawmakers made it a crime to speed in excess of 30 mph over the limit. The problem with the new law […]

Read the full article →